It’s Spring {In The Farmhouse}

Lately I have been thinking back of some fond memories that I have as a child. One year my parents thought it would be fun if we had a different kind of family vacation. Instead of doing something lame like go to Disneyland (ya right!), they thought it would be awesome if their kids could have a true farm-life adventure. So we drove all the way to some place down south (I still have no idea to this day) and for a week we lived on a farm, in a farmhouse with the farm owners and became a farm family. When I think back on this time I remember visiting the chickens and their chicks, petting the horse(s), going on hay rides, eating my first bowl of Golden Crisp cereal and just trekking around the property in my rubber boots. I definitely can say that I look back with fond memories, so good job Mom and Dad.

As Springtime quickly slowly approaches, these memories made me think of the switch over that farmer’s have to do in the spring, getting all of the animals out of the barn and back out in the fields of green grass. Oh Spring, we look forward to your warmth.

On that note, today I wanted to drool over some Farmhouse style. I think my childhood farm-adventure may just be the reason why its one of my secret dreams to own a small farm. It also could be that I spent many days at my husband’s family farm as a teenager.

Either way check it out…

Image

Image

Image

These are some typical farmhouses that you would automatically revert to in your mind when I say Farmhouse. Those wrap-around porches, framed by acres of green grass are calling for me.

Image

ImageImageImage

Upon entering the farmhouse, you may be greeted by rustic barn wood floors or re-purposed vintage accessories. Put your muddy boots to the side and wash up, because the cow bells ringing and dinner is ready!

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

The typical farmhouse kitchen is large and in charge because that is where the heart of the family is. Distinguished by its bead-board walls and cabinets, exposed shelving with tons of white dishes and the deep white porcelain sink, this is where the farmer and his family come every night for a delicious meal at 6.

ImageImage

Image

ImageImage

After dinner and enjoying the family’s company around the dinner table, it’s time to get ready for bed. The farmhouse bathrooms have pedestal sinks and clawfoot tubs; several steps up from the old metal water basin.

Image

ImageImageImageImage

Image

Off to dreamland the family goes after a long days work. The farmhouse bedrooms are cozied up with vintage quilts and afghans. Careful not to wake the farmer when you tip toe across the old rickety floors!

Et voila!
My farmhouse dream.
Thanks for joining me on my adventure to the farmhouse today. I hope you got a taste of the style and decor that is found in some seriously beautiful and historical homes found right outside of your citylines.

See you next time!
-OTED

