Everyday Geometry

Good day Edgers!

I have never been great at math. I didn’t do very well in high school, and still to this day, I am not very good at it. I’ll admit that! Art was my forte. Colours, painting, drawing, shading, sculpting, all of it- I thrived! Then there was music, sure I didn’t take it in high school but I always wanted to. Instead I ended up taking vocal lessons outside of school. Again, I thrived. Last but not least, there was drama. Plays, musicals, the lot. I loved it! When I was in drama class, boy did I love it. Needless to say that even though I was terrible at math and great at a lot of other things, it still doesn’t take a mathematical genius to see the ‘geometry’ that is everywhere around us.

What am I talking about? Not the mathematical formulas, the obtuse or isosceles triangles, but the shapes! Literally, those shapes remain in our midst, day in and day out. Okay, maybe none of this has made sense so far, but here is my proof:

Image

These brass triangular hanging planters are so unique!
Perfect for placing in those areas that just need a hint of life in them.

Image

It seems as though these triangles are mirrors, but they also can be used as great shelving as well.
Where else do you see shapes influencing this room? Apple anyone?

Image

 Perfect! A triangle for you, and a triangle for me! Such sweet his and hers throw pillows.

Image

 And if the triangle is not your style, you can be square!

Image

 As noted in a previous blog- mirrors on a wall are a great way to make your bedroom appear larger. These circle mirrors are hung in such a manor that isn’t overwhelming but still adds that effect.
In fact, I love everything about this room.

Image

Now this side table is really cool. Triangular mirrors formed and shaped into a perfect serving surface.

Image

A mirrored hutch (or buffet) is also a great way to manipulate the ‘wall mirror making the room appear larger’
rule of thumb.
The only difference is that the mirror is attached to the furniture! So smart.

Image

As you can see, geometric shapes and patterns can be found all over.

Here are a few geo-inspired pieces that we found…

ImageImage

Now this is a brilliant idea. If you are afraid of your wall shelves looking too cluttered, hang a patterned wallpaper behind it, creating the illusion that it all blends in. It almost tricks the eye!

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

If you like the geometric idea, but aren’t fully able to commit- try the geo-inspired accessories that we’ve shown you! It’s a great way to east yourself into a new trend.

So now for the heart and soul of the geometric inspiration….

YOUR HOUSE!
Image

Image

Image

Essentially, its all squares and rectangles right? Don’t forget the trusses! They keep that roof over your head!

So cheers to the geometry that keeps your house together!
Because if it wasn’t for some smart guy that isn’t me, you wouldn’t have a sturdy house to decorate!

Goodnight Edgers!

-OTED

